Please for the love of Pete, stop asking me if I am excited!

I don’t know if we are fully prepared for the reverse culture shock that is about to hit us. I am especially concerned with my 13 year old son. I am so worried his new peers will not be able to relate to him or he to them.
I’ve just been through the cabinet I kept all of our travel documents and what nots in. How is it going to be for a child who has traveled almost the entire world, can speak French and Arabic and has seen things others don’t even know exist when he tries to fit in with children who have never left their State? Some of our friends sent their high school junior home because they thought he would do better finishing out his schooling in the States. He was back in less than a month because he couldn’t relate to his friends any more. This worries me.
An International move is so much more than packing your things and getting a new house. There is all this emotional turmoil that goes along with it also. Others tend to over look that part of it.
In the mean time, I still have half a house to pack up and two going away parties to attend tonight. It should be fun.
~ JAM
2 thoughts on “Please for the love of Pete, stop asking me if I am excited!

  1. Anonymous says:

    What part of California are you moving to? We live in a town in California (in the Bay Area)where my kids are kind of “not the norm” because they only speak English and haven't left the country. The kids that my kids went to (public) elementary school with spoke French, Persian, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Tagalog, Hindi, Spanish and I am sure a few others I am missing. It was a trip walking around after school and hearing all of the different languages. They spent most of their vacations visiting family in other parts of the world. One of my daughters had a friend with 3 passports because her parents were each born in different countries and she was born here. This was a public school and middle to upper middle class parents. Maybe try to move somewhere where there are a large amount of people that have moved there (from around the world) for technology jobs. I guess what I am trying to say is not everyone in the USA is “non-worldly”.

    Like

  2. Anon – we are now in southern CA. I really hope that my kids also have a multi cultural experience. Had we never moved out of the country, I would not feel this way. I just don't want them to loose what they have learned from the past 6 years.

    Like

Leave a Reply

