Back to the grind

We’ve just returned from the most relaxing and wonderful vacation ever and now I am back, sitting at my desk, wishing I were somewhere else.

Why is it that I firmly believe that if you are not happy, you need to make a change to get closer to your own happiness, but I just can’t seem to bring myself to quit this job? I can tell you why.

I LOVE the people I work with. LOVE them. I could not have hand picked a better group of people to spend my days with. They are genuine, funny, smart and caring and I really enjoy being around them. I also LOVE my pay check. I know it is small and petty of me, but I do. I love to get paid. This is the first job where I actually feel like I am being paid fairy for the work I do.

I just dislike my hours and I dislike the ups and downs here at this job. I have been toying with the idea of reducing my hours (and pay) to a 30 hour work week, but I am a supervisor, but I am having this really big internal morality fight with myself over it. I am really good at my job and I know I could produce 40 hours of work in 30 hours. I have absolutely no problem bringing it all to the table when it is needed. I don’t know. I think I really need to sit down with HR and my manager and have a serious long talk about this. I think it would be beneficial to all of us if I could somehow pull this off. I just don’t want there to be any animosity with my team or the other teams because I leave early every day.

Ho hum…..

Leave a Reply

