You said what?

OK, well this morning, I came to the conclusion that I just don’t care. If you know me, then you know me. If you THINK you know me, but you really don’t then what I say and how I say it, may surprise (or offend) you – so be it. I am me. I understand that I need to watch what I say for the sake of my husband’s job, but other than that…..well….piss off (and if you really know me, THAT should make you laugh).

There are things that I just need to get off my chest, so to speak, and typing in this silly little blog helped in the past, so why give it up now? The whole photo blog just isn’t my thing. I don’t have time to take the photos, and knowing there are already so many other photo blogs about Al Ain/Abu Dhabi out there, it just doesn’t suit me. I am more an against the crowd type of gal.

OK, so I am LOVING my job. It ROCKS.

Onto what prompted me to type this in the first place…..

I went to get my nails done this weekend. I made an appointment for first thing in the morning as I always do. I get there and the place is packed. I couldn’t believe it. Usually when it is busy, there is a great buzz in the room with everyone smiling and talking and it is very nice. This particular morning, it wasn’t like that. The room felt cold. I was invited to sit in my usual chair, but there was a black clad GIRL sitting there. (I say girl because she sure wasn’t acting like a lady). She was sitting on the side stool chatting to her mate in the next chair – she was not getting anything done. She refused to get up. She also refused to look me in the eye – coward. I stepped toward her and asked her if she had an appointment. She replied with “No, you can’t make appointments”….. Of course I countered with the fact the I HAD AN APPOINTMENT…..she replied that it wasn’t her problem.

OK, wait….. think about that for a moment.

I was furious, but hearing that comment realized I was not dealing with someone who graduated in even the top 30% of her class (if at all) so I backed down. I did, however manage to tell her she was rude and that I didn’t understand why she had to be such a jerk about the whole thing (yes, I actually said that). I am almost 100% sure she didn’t understand me though – not that I really cared, cause i would have said it anyway.

Well, the joke ended up being on her because I got my own private room for my pedicure and manicure. They even threw in an awesome leg massage and we listened to music, ate biscuits, drank tea and had a grand time (after the three of us – myself and the two ladies who do my pedi/mani – got all the “behind closed doors name calling” out of our system!)

SO…….. Really, what the hell? What on earth would make someone act this way? It is just plain disgusting and really does a disservice to all of womankind when one of us acts like a spoiled selfish bitch. Besides, what really pisses me off, is I am the kind of woman who is very understanding and very friendly. If it were the opposite situation and she were the one with the appointment, I would have moved. I think THAT is what ticks me off the most. It is women like this who make me want to scream. I have no idea what her circumstances are. I have no idea who she was or what her background was, but if I were her mama, I would be ashamed.

OK, that’s it for me. I will continue with the blog, but I am working now, so I can not update very often (every time I type that, I end up being able to update every day – ha ha ha!)

~JAM

3 thoughts on “You said what?

  1. I don’t know what or whom to blame for why so many of the younger generation turned out the way they did. Emirati friends of mine in their late 30s and 40s say it’s the money that’s spoiled a generation. If you’ve ever attended a wedding in the UAE, the friendliest guests are often the older women. I suppose a lot of resentment that some people exude (and I think part of her behaviour stems from resentment) is the result of a necessary dependency on foreigners. Though I’ve taught a lot of lovely young Emirati women (and little girls), I’d say there is also a lack of parental control. It’s quite possible a girl/young woman like that was never told to behave properly. And she’s going to procreate, and likely pass on the same crap attitude to her kids.

    Like

  2. What goes around comes around…that’s all I can say. Look what a great time you had! Her turn will come….and it’s not going to be something nice. BTW glad you’re back….

    Like

  3. expat in the US says:

    You know, you can visit http://www.linkexpats.com (< HREF="http://www.linkexpats.com" REL="nofollow">expats in UAE<>). it’s a website that connect expats in UAE. There are also some Americans there. You might even know people there… I live right now in the US, and I met some of my fellow countrymen there… Just a thought.Other than that, as Elle said, what goes around comes around… I believe ambition is everything…

    Like

Leave a Reply

