Exactly what do you mean?

This post is a response to this post on “Your Man In Al Ain‘(s)” blog.

First, let me welcome Your Man to our Al Ain blogging family! Woo Hoo!!!

It is interesting that this post prompted such discussion. I read it as just stating what he likes about his time here so far and nothing more. Being an expat myself, I completely understand what he is saying and where he is coming from with this post. I often mention to my family back “home” that it is sad that we had to leave the country to live the American dream…. To work these same jobs in our home country we would not see the monetary return as we do here, and to make the same kind of money and live a similar life style in our home country, would require that we did things we did not enjoy or that were illegal. At the same time, I am so loving my time here for many many many more reasons besides the money and the convinces. Being here has opened my eyes to so many different things that NEVER would have been a possibility in the US. My children are interacting with other children from all over the world and I don’t have to EVER worry about them getting shot while they are sitting in class (or being offered drugs).

Whether we, as expats, see beyond the fact that things are easier here and the reasons behind that, is a completely different post all together. There are many problems in this country, but please, correct me if I am wrong, I think this post is just trying to convey how happy the poster is here up to this point and how this never would have been possible if he had not taken this post (made the move here).

I think that sometimes, people read too much into what we post. I am not saying that anyone is right or wrong or that anything is bad or whatever, I just think that sometimes, we need to take things at face value and try not to “interpret” everything. I find that this happens a lot here and it leads to many misunderstandings. The speculation about Elle’s comment is a case in point…. She is saying that if she and her family were at “home” instead of she being a stay-at-home mom, she would also be working…… It’s that simple. My family is exactly the same. In the US, I was a stay-at-home mom, but we struggled and came close to loosing everything several times. Here, in the UAE, I can stay home, and we can save money as well as have a home helper, take our clothes to be cleaned, drive new cars, etc… Now, I work because I want to and not because I HAVE to. It is nice.

Why does everything have to be about something? Why can’t we just state a simple fact without having to go into great detail of what we really meant? I don’t know. I think that the only reason I am writing this post is because someone tried to “interpret” what I meant recently and they got it all wrong. I say what I mean, and usually mean what I say. I don’t have the time or energy to talk in code and try to make everyone around me work to figure out what I meant to say.

Enough about this. Sorry to go off into a tangent. I think something else is bothering me…… Maybe I will post something else about that…..

~JAM

4 thoughts on “Exactly what do you mean?

  1. the point about kids getting shot at school or being offered drugs is a good one. our countries back home are filled with nastiness and crime. in my short time here i already got used to leaving my car unlocked and my stuff lying around while i walk off, i ll have to take good care of myself when i fly back home in spring…and thanks a lot for welcoming me…your man in al ain

    Like

  2. Elle, why u r so negative, yes there is crime every where but come on it is nothing here compare to Europe or anywhere else in the worldI guess the man just meant that, I lived here for 27 years I still leave my car engine on and go shopping never ever some one try to drive a way or pull something out of itI suggest u read this post again

    Like

  3. adevents,What elle DID NOT say is crime is rampant. She said crime is around and about.I once left my car unlocked with some gifts in it, in a busy parking lot (near the flyover) for a couple of days. When I finally got back to my car nothing was touched.However, I witnessed the execution of those two guys who were kidnapping and robbing money changers.The lesson is, while don’t leave your guard down you have more give in the UAE than in other places.

    Like

Leave a Reply

