OK, so like, I am obsessed…..

We all knew that though, right?

Last year, I had a horrible Christmas. The kids and I arrived in the UAE in October, so the pain of leaving home was still kind of fresh, then we stayed in Al Ain for the holidays. I cried most of the time from right before Thanksgiving until New Years day. We didn’t even get to see the ball dropping in New York – a family tradition.

This year, I want it to be different. Last year didn’t feel like Christmas. I don’t know if it was the fact that it was hot, or that there seemed to be little public display of Christmas spirit.

Where can I find a large selection of Christmas themed decorations that are not going to break the bank? Last year, we went to Dubai and looked at the Mall of the Emirates and I thought I would have a heart attack at the prices. That is insane! Is there a better place to go???

Also, I would like to start making my own wreaths and topiaries (since I can’t find any decent ones here), any ideas on where to get supplies for that???

OOOOO!!!! Have you guys seen the new book store??? It is on the street that the petroleum building is on, almost across from the small Choitrams! I am SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

OK, would really appreciate your help guys!

TIA!
~JAM

2 thoughts on “OK, so like, I am obsessed…..

  1. Desert Dweller says:

    I love Christmas here. I always feel we make more of an effort for the kids here! Keep a look out for the Christmas tree lighting at the Hilton. It was lovely…. carols, mince pies and mulled wine. Santa even paid a visit with a gift bag for all the kids.Decorations are everywhere you just need to keep a look out. I think some of the shops probably still have some in stock now! As you said you can pay the earth in Dubai or go for cheap and cheery. Choitrams, Carrefour, Gift shops, Mega Mart. Oh I LOVE IKEA’s decorationsPlease post some photo’s of your wreaths I would love to see them.This year we’re heading home for Christmas the first we will be spending with the family in about 10years. Can’t wait!!

    Like

  2. Hmm…IKEA is a good suggestion. I’m clueless too.I’m kind of torn about Christmas this year. I can think of nothing more strange than spending Christmas in the desert without family….I want to make it special for my girl, since she’s old enough to really get into it, but it’s just so weird to think about being here. I’m considering going to Frankfurt, just so that it’s at least cold and I’ve heard Christmas in Germany is great.Sorry…that kind of ran awry of where I wanted it to.But let us know what you find and where. r

    Like

Leave a Reply

