Well, something HAS changed

I made a new friend….

Her name is Cleo as in Cleopatra. We found her in our gardeners trash bucket last night. Every since the Major came walking up the drive with her, I have felt happy.

The idea of making real friends is a wonderful one. I often wonder why it is so difficult for me to do it. Having three kids is one hurdle. It makes going to meet someone at the mall for a cup of coffee more stressful that preparing for a wedding. Leaving said kids with the Major while I go off to meet someone for coffee could be an option, but it is not one that comes easy. Even though he says he wants me to make friends, you can hear the annoyance in his voice when I tell him I have met someone over the internet and would like to meet her. He doesn’t trust anyone and thinks I am naive to go out and meet people I know from the Internet. I am too timid to just go head to head with him about it. The one time, I had him go with me to meet an Internet friend, he did not give off a very good impression and she has not answered an e-mail or phone call from me since. He is very stand offish and socially rude – in my opinion. It has been an issue in our marriage for years. It is also one of the reasons why we have very few friends and why most of my family thinks he is an ass. Of course, if he were really an ass, I would not be married to him, so thank goodness there is more to him than his social shortcomings.

I am hoping to connect with at least one person after she gets back from holiday. I also would like to get to know a lady I met in my mom’s group, but don’t remember her name….. Maybe I should go to the group some time soon…..

Ok then. I have a puppy and a kitten who do not like each other and the puppy is at my feet right now going crazy over the kitten. Must go before I become a casualty of this war.

~JAM

6 thoughts on “Well, something HAS changed

  1. Anonymous says:

    Glad you’re feeling better and have made a new ‘friend’. I find having children makes making friends easier. Their friends parents become your friends and so on. Start talking to the mom’s waiting at the gate after school. Go to Mom’s and Tot’s groups. While the kids are at school meet up with other expats at coffee mornings. Find out who’s in town with kids your kids age and arrange to meet up at the Action Zone/Foton world.

    Like

  2. ohh it’s so cuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuute!cutie cutie pa too tee…awwwwwwwww. kitty kitty kittyoh and sing the major this song:[TIMON]Hakuna Matata!What a wonderful phrase[PUMBA]Hakuna Matata!Ain’t no passing craze[TIMON]It means no worriesFor the rest of your days[TIMON AND PUMBA]It’s our problem-free philosophyHakuna Matata![TIMON]Hakuna Matata![YOUNG SIMBA][spoken] Hakuna Matata?[PUMBA][spoken] Yeah. It’s our motto![YOUNG SIMBA][spoken] What’s a motto?[TIMON][spoken] Nothin’! What’s-a-motto with you?![PUMBA][spoken] Those two words will solve all your problems.[TIMON][spoken] That’s right. Take Pumbaa here[sung] Why…when he was a young warthog[PUMBA]When I was a young warthog[TIMON][spoken] Very nice[PUMBA][spoken] Thanks.[TIMON]He found his aroma lacked a certain appealHe could clear the savannah after ev’ry meal[PUMBA]I’m a sensitive soul though I seem thick-skinnedAnd it hurt that my friends never stood downwind[PUMBA]And, oh, the shame[TIMON]Oh, the shame![PUMBA]Thought of changin’ my name[TIMON]What’s in a name?[PUMBA]And I got downhearted[TIMON]How did ya feel?[PUMBA]Ev’rytime that I…[TIMON][spoken] Hey, Pumbaa! Not in front of the kids![PUMBA][spoken] Oh, sorry.[TIMON AND PUMBA]Hakuna Matata!What a wonderful phraseHakuna Matata!Ain’t no passing craze[YOUNG SIMBA]It means no worries for the rest of your days[ALL]It’s our problem-free philosophyHakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna Matata! Hakuna —[(OLDER) SIMBA]It means no worries for the rest of your days[ALL]It’s our problem-free philosophyHakuna Matata! [repeat][PUMBA]I say “Hakuna”[TIMON]I say “Matata”

    Like

  3. Cute kitty. Here’s hoping the cat and dog manage to reconcile their differences diplomatically and come to an acceptable truce that doesn’t involve chewing holes through the wallpaper.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    My husband is the exact same way! Do you have to tell him it is some women from the internet? In AL AIn you meet everyone eventually so just say your going to Starbucks to meet friends. No Lies.Are you back in Al Ain?

    Like

Leave a Reply

