Hey! Guess What? (Yah, I couldn’t guess either)

My children have taken to yelling “Hey! Guess what?” to me pretty much every time they approach me now. I don’t know why they have started this. My response is usually “chicken butt”, but then they laugh or roll their eyes and say “moooooommmmmm!” and then walk away so I never get to know what it is they wanted me to guess.

I thought the whole eye rolling thing would start in junior high school. I was hoping that I would have more time to teach them the proper way to do it, as I am a pro at the eye-rolling-behind-dad’s-back thing. Little bit is the best at it though. She doesn’t even care if you are looking straight at her. She just rolls those little eyes and then gives you a toothy grin and laughs at you. Sounds like she takes after her mom……..

Other news on the home front:
My gardener keeps bringing me egg plant. I don’t know what to do with an egg plant. The recipes I am finding on the internet involve frying them??? We don’t eat fried vegetables. Any ideas what else to do that is not completely fattening (I know eggplant Parmesan, but that contains my calorie intake for the entire week in one serving!). Another vegetable he is growing and he brings us is this giant green gourd squash thing. It has white meat and big seeds. I find that it is best to remove the seeds if I can because they are hard and woody. Anyone know what this is? I don’t find it in any of the stores or at any of the vegetable stands I visit. All I can come up with is to make soup with it. HELP PLEASE?????

OK, enough. We are heading into Oman this week to go to the beach! Very excited to get away for a bit. I am so tired these days and could really use the break.

Hope you all are having a great week!

~JAM

2 thoughts on “Hey! Guess What? (Yah, I couldn’t guess either)

  1. ME :-p says:

    Hope he isn’t bringing you stuff that will kill you!!!! I’m sorry we haven’t gotten to chat this week…busy at work and babysittin mom this weekend. Miss ya bunches and hope that we can catch up this week. Hugs 4 all!!! Luv ya!

    Like

  2. Poke it with a fork a few times and chuck it in the over on around 400 (if you can identify that temp on those stoves) for about 40 minutes. You can tell it’s done when the skin is pulled away from the meat. When they cool, peel them and put them in a food processor. Add lemon, salt, and tahina and you have baba ghanoush. Great dip for dinner. Tastes best right outta the fridge w/ bread.

    Like

Leave a Reply

