It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

When I was 5, I had a crush on Mr. Rogers. I would get home from school and run from the bus stop as fast as I could to get home before his show started. I would get my snack and sit 6 inches from the TV screen and watch him, mesmerized. I was terrified to pick my nose while his show was on because I was convinced he could see me through the TV.

That was when my parents were still married. Funny how the brain remembers certain things. I remember getting a weeble wobble castle and all of the weeble wobbles to go with it, and I remember my dad spanking me with a paddle ball because I wouldn’t stop playing with it in the house.

I can’t picture my parents ever being together. I remember the first day I met my best friend, and I remember the day she made the first step and came over to my apartment. She thought my mom and I were crazy because we were having a watermelon seed spitting contest at the dinner table and she saw it through the glass door. Yet, she still knocked. We have been friends for over 20 years now.

Ah, what a trip down memory lane. I am feeling nostalgic today. It feels like a Madonna and Culture Club day. If you need me, you will find me in the living room dancing and singing, like the crazy person I am …………….

I am Just a mom going to put her leg warmers and Gloria Vanderbilt’s on.

Leave a Reply

